Merry Christmas!

Dear readers,

I am going to take a break over Christmas and New Year. As I summarize this year, there are a few things that stand out to me.

First, the readership has grown beyond my expectations. I am very happy to be able to reach so many of you, in all corners of the world. I truly wish I had more time to cover what is happening on other continents than Europe, and I will do my best to deliver on that next year.

Thank you to all readers, wherever you are!

Secondly, the leading theme for my blog, the welfare state crisis, is only going to grow in importance. We see the welfare state crisis unfolding all over Europe, but also to some degree here in North America. The Canadian economy is virtually standing still while the American economy is recovering much more slowly than it should. The economic problems in Argentina and South Africa demonstrate that these crises pop up everywhere government tries to impose a welfare state on people’s lives and businesses. In other words, there is even more ground to cover for this blog in the coming year!

Third, by blogging and reaching such a big readership I have been inspired to write a book about the nature of the welfare-state crisis. I have a contract with a renowned European publishing house, and the book will be out in early 2014 under the title “Industrial Poverty”. There I explain the systemic nature of the crisis, how it is on its way to become permanent and what can be done to solve it. The solutions part is actually quite innovative and something I am happy to have been able to develop. For more details, obviously see the book when it is out… I will keep you posted.

Lastly, I cannot say strongly enough how worried I am about the future of Europe. The perpetual crisis in combination with rising political extremism is a powder keg waiting to explode. A friend noted the other day, when there was yet another politically motivated bomb attack in Sweden, that “the war has started”. The turmoil in Greece, after arrests of Golden Dawn leaders, is not far behind Sweden, and let’s not forget Spain where fascists, separatists and leftist radicals have a history of violence for their warped political causes.

On top of this you have the radicalization of muslim immigrants in Europe, the increasingly authoritarian, power-grabbing EU and the dicey economic and social situation in countries like France, Italy, Hungary and even Germany.

It is important to study the European crisis per se, but the unfolding crisis there can teach other countries a great deal. America does not need to follow Europe over the edge of the cliff – and thankfully it looks increasingly as though our long-term path is again going to divert from Europe’s statism. The Canadians, who over the past few years have made some good progress in the direction of economic freedom, should also take note and redouble their efforts to let Capitalism and the free market reign. And I have a distinct feeling that the Chinese are watching Europe, scratching their heads and trying to figure out how not to repeat their mistakes.

For all these reasons, The Liberty Bullhorn will continue to thrive and expand during 2014. But for now, it is time to take a break. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you all! See you back here January 7!

3 comments

  1. utlandssvensk

    Merry X-Mas and thanks for all your good work this year, Larson!

    2014 may turn into something very nasty in Europe, so I am afraid that there will be no shortage of material for you next year. Sweden looks like it could explode any day and the run up to next years election may well become like something out of Germany in the 1930-ies. It is horrible to watch, but I really don’t see any way of stopping it now.